2019 Freedom Fund Dinner

Our annual Freedom Fund Dinner serves as an opportunity to celebrate those who have made a difference in the community. It is also a place where the often unseen work of individuals and organizations are recognized with visual and verbal recognition and awards. Everyday community members come together to collectively support the work and commitment to civil rights and social justice.

The generous support of our sponsors and those who purchase tickets, allows us to pay our operational expenses for the year. Which allows our all-volunteer organization to continue to assist and support those in our community who are addressing societal and systemic injustices through advocacy, engagement and education.

2019 Freedom Fund Dinner Award Recipients

Jan-Michele Lemon Kearney, Esq.
President’s Award

Dr. P. Eric Abercrumbie
Wright Overstreet Memorial Award

Yvette Simpson, Esq.
Theodore M. Berry Award

Procter & Gamble
Community Outreach and Partnership Award

Dr. Cheryll Dunn
Empowering Education Award

Carla Walker
Inspiring Innovator Award

Susan Johnson
Distinguished Volunteer Award

2019 Freedom Fund Dinner Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor

Freedom Funder Sponsor

Media Sponsor

Platinum Sponsor

Laborers District Council of Ohio

Gold Sponsors

District Eight Regional Organizing Committee (DEROC)
Fifth Third Bank
Laborers-Employers Corporation and Education Trust (LECET)
Prestige AV and Creative
Procter and Gamble
Western & Southern Financial Group

Silver Sponsors

Cincinnati Herald
RoSho Awards & Graphics
RRight Now Communications

Freedom Friend Sponsors

Cincinnati Bengals
Cincinnati Federation of Teachers
Francie and John Peper
General Electric Credit Union
Gerhardstein and Branch
Interact for Health
UC Office of Equity Inclusion & Community Impact
US Bank
Xavier University

Steadfast for Freedom Sponsors

ACT Ohio
Cincinnati Reds
Commissioner Denise Driehaus
Community Action Agency
Ed & Carol Rigaud
Laborers Local 265
PNC Bank
Urban League of Greater Southwestern Ohio

Table Sponsors

A. Phillip Randolph Institute of Ohio
Aftab Pureval
Amalgamated Transit Union
Loal 627
Avondale Community
Development Corporation
Derek Bauman
Carla Walker
Church of Latter Day Saints
Cincinnati African American Firefighters Association
Cicinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati Convention and Visitors Bureau
Cincinnati Herald
Cincinnati Public School District
Commissioner Denise Driehaus / Gabe Davis
Councilman Greg Landsman
Councilman PG Sittenfeld
Councilwoman Tamaya Dennard
Dr. Cheryll Dunn
Dr. P. Eric Abercrumbie
Greater Cincinnati Chapter of the National Action Network
Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Hamilton County Democratic Party
Hamilton County Juvenile Court
Jewish Community Relations Council of the Jewish Federation of Cincinnati
Joe Mallory
Local 212 I.B.E.W.
Mark Mallory
Mt. Zion Baptist Church – Woodlawn
Ohio Justice & Policy Center
Pipefitters Local 392
Prince Hall Masons
Robert E. Richardson
Second Episcopal District CME Church
Sentinel Police Association
Sigma Gamma Rho
Womens City Club / Cincinatius Association
The Health Gap
Unted Way of Greater Cincinati
Vada Hill
Dr. Vanessa Y. White