Freedom Fund Dinner
October 1, 2022

The Cincinnati NAACP Annual Freedom Fund Dinner is a long-standing tradition that brings together NAACP members and community supporters to raise funds to support the operations of our local Branch. At the level where we have been working diligently to eliminate discrimination and inequalities for over a decade, since 1915, in 52 neighborhoods and our surrounding communities.

Our initiatives are needed as much now as they ever were. Every day we focus on these key areas: voter education and empowerment, criminal justice reform, public safety, racial health disparities, and economic inclusion, among other aspects. We couldn’t do this work, and accomplish our goals, without the generous support of our community, and monetary support of our mission by our allies and partners.

Keynote Speaker

Benjamin Jealous

President and Chief Executive Officer for the National NAACP (2008-2013)

Please join us as we educate, empower, and engage the community. We would look forward to hearing from you. With the Cincinnati NAACP: YOU Are The Movement!

Award Winners

2022 President’s Award Recipient

Ron Dumas

Avon Fields Golf Course & Hamilton County Juvenile Court Retiree

The President’s Award is the highest award given at the local branch level that is chosen by the branch president to recognize an individual that has been a pillar of the organization for their individual sacrifice and overall impact.

Wright Overstreet Memorial Award

Daronce Daniels

Lincoln Heights City Council, The Heights Movement

The Wright Overstreet Award was established in 1989 to honor the memories of two dedicated civil rights leaders, Rev. Samuel Ross Wright and Mr. Henry Overstreet, Jr. Both men are recognized through this award for their work in the NAACP and in the community.

Theodore M. Berry Award

Charles Johnson

Former Mayor of Forest Park, Former Forest Park City Council

The Theodore M. Berry Award was established in 1995 to recognize outstanding achievement in the political arena and in service to the community.

Community Outreach & Partnership Award

Bishop LaVelton J. Daniel

Senior Pastor of Greater Emanuel Apostolic Temple, Individual

Community Outreach & Partnership Award (Non-Profit)

Chandra Matthews-Smith

United Way, Chief Community Engagement Officer, Non-Profit

Community Outreach & Partnership Award (Corporate)

Distinguished Volunteer Award

Dr. Vanessa Y. White

The Distinguished Volunteer Award recognizes a very impactful volunteer of the Cincinnati Branch of the NAACP and a trusted member that has over time dedicated their time, energy, and resources to help push forward the mission of the local branch of the NAACP.

Empowering Education Award

Carlton R. Collins

Leading Men Fellowship

The Empowering Education Award recognizes leaders in education, who greatly impact African American students in the Greater Cincinnati Area.

Inspiring Innovator Award

Rosemary Oglesby-Henry

Rosemary’s Babies

The Inspiring Innovator Award is given to organizations or persons who change the world we live in with their innovation and creativity.


Title Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Cincinnati Enquirer
Duke Energy OH & KY
Episcopal Retirement Services
Greater Cincinnati Foundation
Prestige AV & Creative Services
Sentinel Police Association
Urban League of Greater Southwestern Ohio

Freedom Friends

Closing the Health Gap
Interact for Health
Laborers Local 265
SPARK Philanthropy
Standard Textile
University of Cincinnati Office of Equity & Inclusion
US Bank
Xavier University

Steadfast for Freedom

AFL-CIO Labor Council
Cincinnati Metropolitan Housing Authority
Cincinnati Police Department
Cincinnati Reds
Cochran Firm
College of Mount St. Joseph
Commissioner Denise Driehaus
Community Action Agency
Easley Blessed Media
Fernland Video Productions
Ironworkers Local 44
LifeCenter Organ Donor Network
Robert & Sherri Richardson
SuperSeeds, Inc

Table Sponsors

Black Professionals
Charter Committee of Greater Cincinnati
Christ Emanuel Christian Church
Cincinnati Federation of Colored Women’s Clubs
Cincinnati Federation of Teachers
Cincinnati Herald
Cincinnati State Technical & Community College
Cincinnati USA
City of Forest Park
College of Mount St. Joseph
Councilman Greg Landsman
Earl “Buddy” Leonhardt
Ennis Tait Ministries
Eula Melson

FC Cincinnati
Great Oaks Career Campuses
Greater Emanuel Apostolic Temple
Hamilton County Democratic Party Judicial Fund
Healthcare Connection
IBEW Local 212
Jennifer Brunner Committee
Jewish Federal Relations; Council of the Jewish Federation of Cincinnati
Joe Mallory
Megen Construction
Miami University
Mrs. William L. Mallory Sr.
Mt. Zion Baptish Church – Woodlawn
National Council of Negro Women, Inc.

PLK Communities
Ron Dumas
Rosemary’s Babies Co.
RoSho Awards
Sheriff Charmaine McGuffey
Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
Talbert House
The Heights Movement
The Literacy Lab
Tracey-Farley Artis
Vanessa Y. White Ph.D.
Village of Lincoln Heights
Wayne Box Miller